• Comeback of the MOMO Porsche 962 C: After several years of restoration, the original car from GEBHARDT Motorsport returns to the historic racing venue at the Hockenheimring.
  • Top-class guests: Canadian John Graham will start with his 1985 Labatts Gebhardt JC 853 Cosworth, British driver Michael Lyons with the 1991 Momo Gebhardt C 91 Cosworth.
  • A trio with free-standing wheels: two March Formula 2 cars from the early 1980s and an Arrows from the Megatron Turbo era of Formula 1, driven by Hockenheimring Managing Director Jochen Nerpel, complete the impressive line-up.

After three decades, the focus is on the return of a legend: More than 30 years after the Porsche 962 C (962-001 BM), which GEBHARDT Motorsport took over from Walter Brun in 1988, was rebuilt following an accident at the 24 Hours of Daytona in January 1989 and last raced as the 962-001 GS at the 1993 24 Hours of Le Mans, the Group C1 sports prototype is returning to the racetracks. The fully restored original model is celebrating its comeback at the Hockenheimring, appropriately driven by a winner of the endurance classic in the west of the Grande Nation. Stanley Dickens, victorious in 1989 together with Jochen Mass and Manuel Reuter in the Sauber Mercedes C9, will present the Porsche in the red and yellow MOMO design on the first weekend in May 2024. Seven other team members will accompany the Swede – a festival of historic racing.

On the first weekend in May 2024, the ADAC Hockenheim Historic – The Jim Clark Revival (May 3 – 5, 2024) will be a gala of historic racing at the Motodrom in Baden-Württemberg. Last year, more than 35,000 spectators turned up to experience the best entertainment up close with the stars of yesterday. GEBHARDT Motorsport not only uses this outstanding stage, but also actively helps to create it. No fewer than eight first-class original vehicles will be brought along by the traditional racing team from Berwangen in Baden-Württemberg to support the success of the major event. Five of the eight vehicles are original designs that have been created since GEBHARDT Motorsport was founded in 1975.

The line-up will be led by the MOMO Porsche 962 C with chassis number 962-001 GS. The Group C1 sports prototype last competed in the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1993, and the racer, which first raced at the Sarthe in 1990, made a total of four appearances in the west of the Grande Nation. After three decades on the road, the car, with which the Milanese MOMO founder Gianpiero Moretti once raced all over the world, has been dismantled into its individual parts at the GEBHARDT team headquarters in Berwangen and completely restored under the direction of Nick van der Borg and Karl David Jennings. This car will be one of the highlights at the ADAC Hockenheim Historic. The Swedish driver Stanley Dickens is an original driver who drove the MOMO-Porsche 962 C with chassis number 962-001 GS four times, including at the 24 Hours of Daytona in January 1990 with Derek Bell and Gianpiero Moretti. Six months earlier, Dickens had triumphed together with Jochen Mass and Manuel Reuter in another endurance classic, the 24 Hours of Le Mans – although with the Sauber-Mercedes C9.

With three victories at the Sarthe, Marco Werner is at least on a par with him. Having been working with GEBHARDT Motorsport for several years now, he will be driving the traditional MOMO-GEBHARDT C88 with the five-cylinder engine from Audi once again. He will be accompanied by no less than three cars of the same name built between 1984 and 1991, starting with the British driver Michael Lyons. He drives the newest and most modern of the company’s three Group C racing cars. The main feature of the 1991 Momo Gebhardt C 91 Cosworth is a carbon fiber chassis, while the earlier versions were still based on aluminum monocoques.

This applies, for example, for the Labatts Gebhardt JC 853 Cosworth, which John Graham drove together with Frank Jelinski and Nick Adams in the 1985 World Sports Car Championship. The Canadian Graham returns to his old workplace at the ADAC Hockenheim Historic – another top-class car with a worldwide racing history. The 1983 ADA Gebhardt JC 843 Cosworth is a winner of the 1986 24 Hours of Le Mans in the C2 category, driven by Michael Herich. Herich has something in common with Jochen Nerpel, the current Managing Director of Hockenheim-Ring GmbH: the two met as young drivers in Formula König. The Arrows Megatron Turbo Formula 1 from Wolfgang Huter’s collection gives Nerpel the opportunity for a reunion. Torsten Guggolz and Jochen Gaa complete the presentation with two March Monoposti from the 1983 and 1984 Formula 2 European Championships. The two two-liter single-seaters have one important detail in common with the sports car scene. The March 832 BMW Formula 2 and the March 843 BMW Formula 2 were converted into CanAm single-seaters thanks to their disguised wheels and competed in the Interseries from 1984.

The result was the German Sports Car Championship in 1985 as a diverse mix with the protagonists of Group C – the Interserie took its place again in 1986. This constellation continued into the nineties. As the GEBHARDT CanAm, the dugouts with their free-standing wheels, which have been restored to their original condition, are now an absolute must – not least at the ADAC Hockenheim Historic, the Jim Clark Revival from May 3 to 5, 2024.

GEBHARDT Motorsport will be competing with the following drivers and cars:

  • Momo Gebhardt Porsche 962 C
    Driver: Stanley Dickens / S
  • Momo Gebhardt C 91 Cosworth
    Driver: Michael Lyons /GB
  • Momo Gebhardt C 88 Audi C 2
    Driver: Marco Werner /D
  • Labatts Gebhardt JC 853 Cosworth
    Driver: John Graham/CDN
  • ADA Gebhardt JC 843 Cosworth
    Driver: Michael Herich /D
  • March 832 BMW F2
    Driver: Torsten Guggolz /D
  • March 843 BMW F2
    Driver: Jochen Gaa /D
  • Arrows Megatron Turbo F1
    Driver: Jochen Nerpel /D

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt: netzwerkeins GmbH, Carsten Krome