Racing Series Lurani Trophy


Racing classes for novices

Formula Junior was the idea of Italian Count Johnny Lurani, to create a starter Formula, to encourage Italian drivers back into Grand Prix cars and it began in 1958.
Within two years, there were races every weekend across five Continents, and by 1961, it had become the feeder Formula direct into Formula One…Jim Clark, John Surtees, Peter Arundell, Mike Spence, Denis Hulme, Jochen Rindt, Mike Hailwood and Giancarlo Baghetti were amongst many who progressed that way.
Formula Junior was the first Historic Formula to be revived, in 1975, and the FIA Lurani Trophy was the first FIA Championship to be permitted to be run by its own group, in 1996.

Formula Junior Today
Historic Formula Junior racing takes place Worldwide, at venues ranging from the F1 GP circuits of Silverstone and Le Castellet, to Goodwood and the streets of Copenhagen. In Europe alone, even during the current Covid crisis, the 2021 Formula Junior Historic Racing Association [FJHRA] calendar will visit 19 different events.
The FJHRA organises three Championships; the Lurani Trophy, and the “Silverline” UK and Front Engined Championships.

2021 Lurani Trophy
The 2021 Trophy will be contested across 4 premium European circuits; Hockenheim, Paul Ricard, Nürburgring, and Dijon.

Race Preview
The Hockenheim Historic is a favourite amongst our competitors and is also the traditional opening round for our Lurani Trophy season.
The overall race win is likely to be hotly challenged by ELMS driver Richard Bradley (Brabham BT2), and Mark Shaw (Brabham BT6).
The beauty in Historic Formula Junior is however that there are races amongst competitors throughout the field, not just at the front, and the full spectrum of Formula Junior cars from 1958 – 1963 will be on track for you to enjoy.




Lurani Trophy
Duncan Rabagliati
4 Wool

Phone: +44 (0) 20 8144 0460