The founding of Formula Junior, a racing class for novices, was the idea of Italian Count Johnny Lurani in order to entice Italian drivers into a Grand Prix car. Within two years, there was a race every weekend on five continents, and from 1961, you could go straight from there into Formula 1. Jim Clark, John Surtees, Peter Arundell, Mike Spence, Denis Hulme, Jochen Rindt, Mike Hailwood and Giancarlo Baghetti are just a few of the many who got into Formula 1 this way.

The FIA Lurani Trophy is being held in 2019 at top-class European racing tracks. The Hockenheim Historic is one of the most popular of the competitions and has also traditionally been the opener for the FIA Lurani Trophy season.