Racing Series FIA Lurani Trophy


Racing classes for novices

The first race in Formula Junior took place on 25 April 1958 – over 60 years ago. This race was won by Roberto Lippi in a Stanguellini FJ.

The founding of Formula Junior, a racing class for novices, was the idea of Italian Count Johnny Lurani in order to entice Italian drivers into a Grand Prix car. Within two years, there was a race every weekend on five continents, and from 1961, you could go straight from there into Formula 1. Jim Clark, John Surtees, Peter Arundell, Mike Spence, Denis Hulme, Jochen Rindt, Mike Hailwood and Giancarlo Baghetti are just a few of the many who got into Formula 1 this way.

Formula Junior was the first historic racing class, which was brought back to life in 1975, and the FIA Lurani Trophy was the first FIA championship that was allowed to be managed by its own group in 1996. Celebrations on its golden anniversary followed in 2008 with eight races in Europe, New Zealand, Australia, the east and west coast of the USA and South Africa. A total of 270 drivers took part. And the Diamond Jubilee World Tour took place from 2016 – 2018.

The FIA Lurani Trophy is being held in 2019 at six top-class European racing tracks. The Hockenheim Historic is one of the most popular of our competitions and has also traditionally been the opener for the FIA Lurani Trophy season.




FIA Lurani Trophy
Duncan Rabagliati
4 Wool

Phone: +44 (0) 20 8144 0460

Our website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.